Marathon Musings: Confession Time (& Post-Marathon Plans)

I have a small confession to make.  This past Thursday was the first time I ran since my 20 miler.  Yes, that was something like a 3 week break.  I don’t know what happened, but all of a sudden I just could not find it in me to put one foot in front of the other and run for even 3 feet let alone 3 miles, 5 miles, 8 miles, 12 miles…

I knew it was probably my worst idea ever to blow off over three weeks worth of runs so close to D-Day, but I couldn’t even bring myself to care.  Surprisingly…or maybe not so surprisingly, my slacking hasn’t increased my nerves very much.  I figure I’ve been running consistently and training for distance runs (half marathons) for almost a year straight now.  I managed all of my marathon long runs with minimal struggle, and even the 20 miler, while it was a challenge, wasn’t terrible.

I did run, with Colleen, again last Thursday, and I’m doing my final “long” run tonight.  I plan to take a nice long walk on Wednesday and do some gentle yoga/ stretching Thursday/ Friday.  My hip was a little sore during Thursday’s run, but I think it was just getting back into the swing of things.

However, when I sat down and really, truly thought about it, I realized that I’m just straight up burnt out on running.  So I’ve decided that after the marathon I’m going to take at least two weeks off from running.  Don’t get me wrong here.  I still love running, and I definitely plan to continue running after the marathon – especially since I’m already signed up for the Warrior Dash in June and the Chicago Rock n Roll half marathon in July – but after the marathon, I plan to take a much more relaxed approach to running and shift my focus to hiking and biking.  I’ll set up a training plan for the half marathon, but it’s going to be very relaxed.

I really enjoy biking, and I would like to improve in that arena.  I definitely want to do a sprint tri at some point in the not too distant future, and I think I would like to participate in a cycling race/ event some day.  Hiking and biking are also things Nik enjoys so him and I can do them together.  My hope to be able to take a couple short day trips over the summer and into fall to various forest preserves, state parks and trails in the area.

So there you have it.  Now, wish me luck I have a marathon to run in 5 days!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Musings: Confession Time (& Post-Marathon Plans)

Leave a Reply

