Marathon Musings: 26.2 Playlist

Building a six-hour marathon playlist turned out to be a lot more difficult than I expected it to be: even with 17.2 days worth of music to choose from.  You have to find the right beats and arrange them so they flow well together.  You have to attempt to time your power songs so they play when you need that extra motivation.   And if you’re like me and have a hugely eclectic music library, you have to predict what musical mood you’re going to be in because there’s little worse than having to listen to a song you’re not interested in while running.

I called on a variety of resources to assemble my marathon playlist, and I have to say, it was nearly perfect.  My power songs were well-timed and came on during the stretch from 18 – 20 where I was pretty much running alone in the middle of frickin no where.  There were a couple of songs that didn’t quite flow, but overall, it was a win!

I recently joined Spotify, and the playlist is there, but in case you don’t use Spotify, here’s the list…all 90 songs…you’re welcome.

(Click on the images below to enlarge and actually be able to read the track list)

(Click on the images above to enlarge and actually be able to read the track list)

And just in case you need to build your own 6 hour playlist (and this isn’t enough for you), here are some of the resources I used to build my epic playlist: suggestions from Facebook friends, suggestions on this Marathon Musings post, Gizmodo’s Most Mathematically Perfect Playlist for Running which a Facebook friend shared with me, Laura’s Running Music, Dori’s Running Songs, several Press Play posts from Rachel Wilkerson, and the other running playlists I’ve created since 2009

One thought on “Marathon Musings: 26.2 Playlist

Leave a Reply

